Google+ Badge

Tuesday, May 24, 2016

Silence in the Dark by Patricia Bradley - A Book Review

        Patricia Bradley

     Missionary Bailey Adams is anxious to return home to Logan Point, even if only for a visit. Bailey has made some very dangerous enemies in Mexico and needs to gain perspective on her role there. On her last day in Mexico those enemies, a disgruntled shaman, someone from the Calatrava drug cartel, or a kidnapper after Bailey’s charge, young Maria Montoya, have Bailey and Maria on the run. How long is the arm of those who would do these two harm? To what extent will they go to carry out their plans? Will Logan Point, Mississippi put enough distance between them?
     Bailey has known all along that going home to Logan Point means inevitably running into her former fiance, Danny Maxwell. She had not however considered the possibility of their paths crossing in Chihuahua, Mexico, and is totally taken aback when that is just what happens. Now it seems Danny is the only one she can trust to get her and Maria to safety.

     Each mystery in Bradley’s Logan Point series has included well laid out clues and plausible red herrings. The fast paced action, crisp dialogue, and engaging characters will have readers carrying the books wherever they go, snatching moments whenever possible to catch the next turn of events. While reading the books in sequence will allow the reader to understand some references regarding characters and events from previous books, the books do work well as a stand alone read. Patricia Bradley has become one of my favorite mystery authors. Mystery fans of Irene Hannon, Lynette Eason, and Colleen Coble will be proud to display Bradley’s books on their shelves as well. I thank Revell Publishing and the Christian Blog Alliance for providing Silence in the Dark for my honest opinion. I received no monetary compensation for providing this review.   

Tuesday, May 17, 2016

The Quieting by Suzanne Woods Fisher

 The Quieting        
     On her Amish Wisdom website Suzanne Woods Fisher explains the concept of quieting. We are all familiar with the Amish custom of shunning, a form of discipline for unrepentant church members. Quieting revokes the ordination of an unrepentant Amish bishop, deacon or minister. It is rarely done, and never taken lightly. The entire Amish community feels the pain of such an action of discipline. Fisher introduced readers to this form of discipline in her first book in The Bishop’s Family series, The Imposter. While reading this second book in the series, I was on pins and needles waiting to see which way the tide would turn and which church leader would undergo the quieting. Would the one deserving of this discipline receive it, or would he be able to manipulate the church members into believing there was another that needed to be the recipient?
     While the community and church leadership dealt with the situation that threatened to split the community, one of the leader’s nieces was dealing with a situation of her own. Driven to complete her ailing father’s genealogy work for Francis Glick in order to pull him from his state of depression, Abigail is pursued by one of the few eligible bachelors in Stoney Ridge. Abigail’s singular focus on her task, lack of social skills and her tendency to take all things literally work to derail the budding relationship. Will she be able to pull herself out of the past to see what is right before her in the present?

     Even if you are not a fan of Amish fiction, but love books where relationships are put to the test and there are deeper lessons to be learned, you will love this series. You may also gain valuable insight into what your own pastor’s life may be like as he works to meet the needs of his church without neglecting the needs of his family. I thank Revell Publishers and Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for providing The Quieting for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed here are strictly my own.          

Friday, May 13, 2016

Anchor in the Storm by Sarah Sundin - A Book Review

       Anchor in the Storm
     Sarah Sundin’s second installment of the Waves of Freedom series brings minor characters from the first book, Through Waters Deep, into the forefront and into another mystery centered in the city of Boston as our country enters the Second World War. Jim Avery’s best friend, Ensign Archer Vandenberg, and sister, Lillian, both have trust issues that interfere with the progress of their relationship, but working to bust a drug ring that provides prescription sedatives to sailors draws them closer together. The relationship is bolstered by the fact that Lillian is totally unimpressed by Archer’s wealth, and Archer challenges Lillian to try new experiences in spite of her prosthesis.

     While I enjoyed the well developed mystery and the romance in this book, it was the way the author captured the attitude and reaction of the American people of the 1940s toward those with disabilities, both civilian and military that captured my interest. This stood out in such stark contrast to today’s support of our wounded warriors and others with disabilities. The book also allows the reader to see the difference in how the military and civilian business community viewed those with combat fatigue versus how we view our active duty personnel and veterans suffering from post traumatic stress syndrome. Our society has come a long way in the past seventy-five years.

      Anchor in the Storm is a really good read. Historical fiction fans will enjoy it as will mystery and romance readers. Even though it is set in another time, I believe military spouses will find insight in Archer and Lillian’s story as they deal with the emotional side of the war effort. I thank Revell Publishers and Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for providing Anchor in the Storm for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed here are strictly my own